Blog Fixed!

Apparently the codemonkeys at wordpress took my annoyances seriously: the blog interface was fixed yesterday! Now I can get back to writing things that nobody will ever read. Except for my loyal reader, glima.

First up I spent an amazing amount of time chasing down a one-liner in e_widget which was breaking the world but had never been caught. Astounding. Then I was able to get to some real work: adding filemanager widgets inside filepreview widgets to display the contents of directories.
Fileselector:

EFM Tooltips:

The rest of my day was spent with paperwork and other menial tasks like drinking hot chocolate and eating company lunches.

Today is a new day, however, and with it comes new excitement. EIO is finally being integrated into E17 to replace ecore_file in many cases. The plus side of this for me is that it’s not something I can take pictures of, so I get to be lazy and just write huge walls of text instead of clicking around with my mouse, which I am convinced is trying to kill me. Somehow.

Much of my time today was spent working on improving user experience with E17, specifically reducing load times. Users with several themes installed will have noticed that loading up the theme selector would cause E to lock up for quite a while as it loaded thumbnails to display. This should now be resolved as a result of the EIO integration.

About e-releasemanager

I'm employed by a top 5 electronics company. My current task is preparing Enlightenment releases.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blog Fixed!

  1. jalan says:

    “Now I can get back to writing things that nobody will ever read. Except for my loyal reader, glima.”

    Hey, there are some other subscribers out here!

  2. I also read your sh!t πŸ˜€

    Also, we should find a way to speed up the e17 load time… even more! One step is to disable the stupid welcome/startup screen, that makes e17 seems like gnome to start… while it’s not. But there are some improvements as well, we could use the measures from ~/.xsession-errors to fix those.

  3. Galaf says:

    Come on, man! He’s not your only reader! πŸ˜‰

  4. evadim says:

    Hey! I read your blog everyday!

    P.S. Blog description – awesome!

  5. mike russo says:

    Came in here to write what everyone else is saying — we’re reading!! we can’t believe E17 IS ACTUALLY GOING TO GET RELEASED!! Did an old crone prophesy your birth, and say that you would be the one the world was waiting for to release the great E17? I’m betting that’s so.

  6. Hey dude, I also read this blog.
    Great improvement everyday!

  7. Neil C says:

    FYI I find this quite interesting.

  8. Cedric BAIL says:

    Yeah ! I read it to so I know what I can start using. As a real example e_fm improvement have make it usable again ! That’s an awesome achievement by itself !

  9. Lars says:

    This blog is a daily joy to me. Keep up the good work.

  10. Cara de Brasil says:

    Another reader here too!
    E17 going stable is a great new, surely a lot of people read you! Don’t be such a pussy =P

    Keep up this amazing work dude!

Leave a Reply

