A Release Manager’s Work Is Never Done

I’m going on vacation, I promise. But first, here’s a new snapshot. Enjoy!

About e-releasemanager

I'm employed by a top 5 electronics company. My current task is preparing Enlightenment releases.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Release Manager’s Work Is Never Done

  1. Rocker says:

    I hope there are better themes for e17 released. Most of the themes are so super-glossy, it feels sick. There are almost no professional looking themes.

    • Raver says:

      IMO the problem is not so much that they’re glossy but rather that they don’t have a good sense of how to group things, where to put divisors and where to remove the seams, where to use bold imagery and where to be more subtle, etc.

      The overall amount of bling is OK, it’s just in the wrong spots and/or at the wrong times.

      But I think the need for a better theme has been already acknowledged, I think I remember reading an entry about it in the bug tracker, and I also remember having seen somewhere a work-in-progress theme made by ProFusion’s UI designer, it looked good, although I’m not sure that was actually what I saw.

      At any rate “we” do need to release with a pro theme, otherwise Enlightenment will not only have taken longer to develop than Duke Nukem Forever, it will also be a bigger disappointment!

      The worst part is that I should have the skills to make one but I’m too stoned to learn how to actually do it. I’m sure Mike will understand.

Leave a Reply

